tiny hand string art.

string art-7-2This image makes me want to say high five. So this string art idea is taking the (pinning) world by storm. When looking for a valentines day craft, I was thinking of doing some string art with hearts or some such Valentine’s day staple. However, I thought doing a tiny little Crew hand would be more meaningful, and fun, and something I could hang later. Of course this project can be done with any shape.

string art-3

string art-4

You need these things:

  • Small nails. I used 1 inch. Make sure they have a small flat head to hold string in place.
  • Block of wood. I bought unfinished and gave it a coat of white. Any craft store.
  • Scissors, pencil, hammer.
  • Colored string or yarn of your choice.

I thought the idea of tracing a tiny hand would be super easy. Wrong! However, I bribed him with mini chocolate chips and the battle was an easy win. You can use yarn too, but I chose string because I thought a finished product of a fuzzy yarn hand would come out looking like a paw.

  • Trace your shape. Small chubby hand for me.
  • Cut it out.
  • Trace it on to your block of wood in pencil or something light.
  • Hammer your nails in along your trace. Thankfully, I had a husband who volunteered for this part. The tighter you place them, the tighter your string art will be. Choose based on the effect you want.

string art-6

string art-2-2

string art-4-2

  • Tie a tiny knot around any of the nail heads to begin. Pull tight as you begin to loop around.
  • Start looping to various nails. There is no right way so just string and pull and loop.
  • Knot the end around a nail after you feel like you’ve achieved the look you want.

string art-6-2

string art-5-2

Mantel, wall, gift for the grandparents….put where you please.

All in favor of sting art, raise your hand! ;o)

3 thoughts on “tiny hand string art.

  1. Pingback: hand print gift ideas

Leave a comment